fbpx

3 Hotels to Stay at If You Love Cities

Often serving as a home base for urban exploration, boutique hotels provide travelers a look into the ethos of a city. From #Tokyo to #HongKong to #Antwerp—and each establishment drastically different from the last—we’ve spotlighted three amazing urban boutique hotels below.👇⁣⁣
⁣⁣⁣
⁣⁣1️⃣ Priding itself as an “accommodation bookstore,” avid readers will love snoozing amongst a selection of over 3,000 books at Book and Bed Tokyo (@bookandbedtokyo) 📚. The Shinjuku location holds 55 beds behind bookshelves, along with Edison-bulb reading lights, so guests can fall asleep with a book in hand. Not a five-star hotel experience, the hotel’s communal space, and each-guest-gets-a-book restaurant are inimitable. 🇯🇵 ⁣⁣
⁣⁣⁣
⁣⁣2️⃣ Sophisticated hotel, The Upper House (@upperhouse_hkg), is an Andre Fu-designed staple within the bustling metropolis of Hong Kong. Hosting 117 spacious suites and studios, the hotel’s contemporary look stems from both Asian & Western points of inspiration. The preceding is collectively exhibited through building materials like shoji glass, natural timber, and bamboo, as well as ubiquitous site-specific and nature-inspired artworks. The rooms aren’t the only hotel spaces with views of Hong Kong’s skyline and Victoria Harbour as guests can indulge in European-inspired dishes & afternoon tea at the 49th-floor restaurant, Café Gray Deluxe. 🇭🇰

⁣⁣⁣3️⃣ Transformed from an Augustinian convent to a trendy boutique hotel, August Antwerp (@augustantwerp) in Belgium boasts a design that both preserves its Belgian historical architecture while, at the same time, infusing contemporary modernism into finely-crafted spaces. Displayed through its 44 convent-dimensioned rooms, five heritage-listed buildings, three lush private walled gardens, brasserie, and elegant library, the hotel serves as a modern-day sanctuary that celebrates Flemish culture. Once a chapel, guests can grab a drink at August Bar, a light-filled, high-ceiling space hosting a reposeful interior filled with colors like gray, taupes, and smoky oaks.

About Hotels Above PAr

My Photo

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter

Featured

Privacy Policy